Piano Sonata No. 5 “CGH” (2013)

Piano Sonata No. 5 was composed during the summer/fall of 2013. The three movements are performed attacca. The work is composed to the memory of Dr. Carl G. Harris, who is the late Professor of Piano and Organ at Hampton University.

Solemn and mournful expressions are presented in the first movement of the sonata, and are based on the notes C, G, and B in succession (representing the first letters of the name of the dedicatee). The work continues with more joyous expressions in the second movement. Finally, the concluding movement is heroic, and represents the great accomplishments of the dedicatee.

Harvey J. Stokes
Duration of movements:
I. Largo:                        ca. 5′ 50″
II. Giocoso:                    ca. 5′ 00″
III. Andante eroico:      ca. 7′ 30″
Total Duration:            ca. 18′ 20″

Performed 2/21/14 by Kyong Jarrell, in Murfreesboro, North Carolina, Chowan University at the Mid-Atlantic Chapter of National Association of Composers, USA conference.

Performed 2/27/15 by Jennifer Cruz, piano in Spartanburg, South Carolina at the 2015 Southeastern Composers League Forum of New Music Conference.

Performed 2/27/16 by Kyong Jarrell, piano in Huntington, West Virginia at the 2016 Region III Society of Composers, Inc. Conference.

Piano Sonata No. 5 “CGH”



Inquiries?  Please write harveystokes78@gmail.com for more information.