String Quartet No. 7 (2019)

String Quartet No. 7 was written during the fall and winter of 2019 in Hampton, Virginia and is dedicated in memoriam “to the greatest.”  The three movements are performed attacca.

Harvey J. Stokes

Duration of movements:
I. Prelude                             ca. 6′ 14″
II. Variations                      ca. 16′ 46″
III. Postlude                           ca. 7′ 00″
Total Duration: ca. 30′ 00″

In memoriam Shirley Stokes (1934-2019).


Instrumentation: Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Violoncello.

String Quartet No. 7 (2019)

Score and Parts



Inquiries?  Please write for more information.