Piano Sonata No. 10 (2018)

Piano Sonata No. 10 was written for pianist Susan C. Ha, who is a Professor of Piano at Norfolk State University in Norfolk, Virginia. The four movements are character preludes in a “German key motto” of A, C, B, and A respectively in honor of the pianist as follows:

(Sus)A(n) C(.) HA

The work is to be performed attacca.

Harvey J. Stokes

Duration of movements:
I. Allegro           ca. 3′ 33″
II. Adagio           ca. 5′ 10″
III. Moderato      ca. 3′ 15″
IV. Andante         ca. 3′ 22″
Total Duration:     ca. 15′ 20″


Pianist Susan C. Ha is Assistant Professor of Piano at Norfolk State University and has served as Coordinator of the Piano Area since Fall 2014. She is an active soloist, chamber musician, and orchestral soloist throughout the United States. She has appeared at Carnegie Hall, Interlochen Center for the Arts, World Piano Conference, and Intercollegiate Music Association. Solo performances have included concerto appearances with the Shenandoah Conservatory Symphony Orchestra, Mason Symphony Orchestra of Michigan, the New River Valley Symphony Orchestra, and James Madison University Symphony Orchestra. Other performance engagements include New Music Norfolk, Ferrara Chamber Music Symposium, Cincinnati Art Museum, Music and Meaning: Views from the 21st Century, the Investiture of the 28th President of the University of Cincinnati, Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp, and Accent 12. In 2013, she was invited to be on the performing member roster of Washington D.C.’s Friday Morning Music Club in the solo piano division.

Her recent performances include Oberlin College for the National GP3Conference, Southeastern Composers League in Louisiana, violin and piano recitals with the associate concertmaster of Kimpo Philharmonic Orchestra of Korea, Cantabile Project of Norfolk, Sentara’s Music and Mind Center, Neon Festival of Norfolk’s Arts District, Virginia Symphony Orchestra, Virginia Arts Festival, Symphonicity, George Mason University, Hampton University, Old Dominion University, and the Virginia Music Teachers Association’s Annual Conference. She had collaborated with the Virginia Opera as a pianist as well. In addition, she performs in 25-30 recitals per year at Norfolk State University.

An arts advocate, Ha is the coordinator of the Virginia Music Teachers Association’s annual concerto competition. While residing in Cincinnati, she was artistic director of two separate concert series in the greater Cincinnati area: Glendale Fine Music, which she co-founded in 2011, and the Challenging Performances Series, which she had reinstated for its 10th year in 2012. She had taught at Blue Lake Arts Center, The Lincoln University, the College-Conservatory of Music at the University of Cincinnati, and Communiversity Program at the University of Cincinnati. Her M.M. and D.M.A. in Piano Performance were completed at the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music with pianist Awadagin Pratt. Her other teachers include Dr. Eric Ruple and Dr. Hae-Won Min.  Her B.M. in Piano Performance with honors is from James Madison University. While attending JMU, she won the concerto competition in her sophomore and senior years, performing Schostakovich Piano Concerto No. 1 and Liszt Piano Concerto No. 1 with the JMU Symphony Orchestra.

Piano Sonata No. 10



Inquiries?  Please write harveystokes78@gmail.com for more information.