String Quartet No. 2 (1992)

The String Quartet No. 2 is dedicated to the Oxford String Quartet.  The music in each of the three movements is generated from the same pitch complex.

Duration of movements:
I. Furioso                        ca. 9′ 59′
II. Moderato                    ca. 6′ 25″
III. Andante                    ca. 10′ 21″

Total duration: ca. 28′ 00″

The work is published by Seesaw/Subito Music of Verona, New Jersey.

The work can be heard also on Albany Records: Harvey J. Stokes: String Quartets Nos. 1-3, TROY 288.

Chamber Music Instrumentation: Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Violoncello.

Performed 5/23/96 and 5/26/96 by the Oxford String Quartet in San Juan, Argentina and Mendosa, Argentina respectively.

Performed 8/18/96 by the Richmond Chamber Players in Richmond, Virginia.