Sonata for Violoncello and Piano (1997)

The Sonata for Violoncello and Piano was composed during the spring and summer of 1997 in Hampton, Virginia for Steve Shumway, who is the late cellist-in-residence at Miami University.  Performance of the movements in this work is attacca.

A pastoral first movement and an intense fifth movement have been composed in accordance with the ternary principle, while a fiery second movement has been configured as a single-movement sonata.  The serene third movement has been cast in one-part form, while the playful fourth movement has been composed in two-part form.

Harvey J. Stokes

Duration of movements:
I. Moderato                      ca. 3′ 08″
II. Allegretto                      ca. 3′ 27″
III. Adagio-Andante           ca. 5′ 28″
IV. Allegro                            ca. 8′ 40″
V. Presto                              ca. 3′ 42″
Total Duration      ca. 19′ 00″

This work is published by Seesaw/Subito Music of Verona, New Jersey.

Performed 3/15/98 by James Herbison, violoncello and Kyong Jarrell, piano in Norfolk, Va. at the Tidewater Chapter of National Association of Composers, USA conference, Norfolk, Virginia.