Chamber Concerto No. 1 (for Oboe and String Quartet)

The Chamber Concerto No. 1 (for Oboe and String Quartet) was composed during the summer of 1978 at 2899 Liberia Drive, Roberts Park, in Norfolk, Virginia, and is dedicated to “Mom.”  The three movements are performed attacca, and the foreground aspects of the work include the general lyricism of melodic activity, coloristic harmony, and rhythmic gestures suggesting an amalgamation of diverse cultural and musical influences.

Harvey J. Stokes; 8/11/78 (rev. 3/21/09)

Duration of movements:

I. Allegretto                                      ca. 12′ 35″

II. Larghetto con espressione        ca. 12′ 45″

III. Moderato                                      ca. 13′ 40″

Total duration: ca. 39 minutes.

Instrumentation: Oboe, 2 Violins, Viola, Violoncello.

Inquiries?  Please write for pricing information.