String Quartet No. 4 (1999)

The String Quartet No. 4 was composed for and dedicated to the Oxford String Quartet. The music consists of a passacaglia, fugue and free sonata form, all based on a collection of eight pitches.

Harvey J. Stokes
Duration of movements:
I. Adagio                   ca. 4’ 12”
II. Andante                ca. 4’ 24”
III. Allegro                ca. 10’ 17”
Total Duration: ca. 18′ 53″

The work is published by Seesaw/Subito Music of Verona, New Jersey.

Chamber Music Instrumentation: 2 Violins, Viola, Violoncello.

Performed 9/19/99 by the Gateways Music Festival Quartet, Norfolk, Virginia and 10/17/99 by the Gateways Music Festival Quartet, Hampton, Virginia for the Old Dominion U./Hampton U. exhibit concert of the Norfolk Foundation.