Clarinet Concerto (Concerto for Clarinet and Chamber Orchestra)

The Clarinet Concerto was composed during the spring and summer of 2009 for Nikolasa Tejero, who is a Professor of Clarinet at the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga.

All titles of the three movements reflect the character of the composed music.  The initial movement opens with mysterious articulations, and is contrasted with sprightly secondary thematic material.  After a somber and dramatic slow movement is concluded by a grand piano and clarinet flourish, a lilting festive dance movement completes the work.

Architectonic procedures of form are expressed in each movement in a non-doctrinaire postmodern manner, with an abundance of cyclical elements throughout. The work is performed attacca.

Harvey J. Stokes
Duration of movements
I. Polemic                   ca. 7’ 00”
II. Lamentation        ca. 11’ 30”
III. Dance                      ca. 7’ 30”
Total Duration: ca. 26’ 00″

(Solo Clarinet and Chamber Orchestra)
English Horn
French Horn in F
Trumpet in C (with con sord. straight mute)
Trombone (with con sord. straight mute)
Pedal Timpani
(Beginning pitches: 32” [F-sharp]; 29” [G-sharp]; 26” [c-sharp])
Solo Clarinet in A

The Clarinet Concerto is published by Ars Nova Press of Seattle, Washington.

Performed 2/8/11 by Nikolasa Tejero, clarinet soloist and the UTC Symphony Orchestra in Chattanooga, Tennessee at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.