String Quartet No. 1 (1990)

The String Quartet No. 1 was commissioned by the Oxford String Quartet. The musical material for the three movements is generated from motives in the first five bars of the work.

Duration of movements:
I.                  ca. 5′ 23′
II.                 ca. 4′ 10″
III.                 ca. 2′ 57″

Total duration: ca. 12′ 30″

The work is published by Seesaw/Subito Music of Verona, New Jersey.

The work can be heard also on Albany Records: Harvey J. Stokes: String Quartets Nos. 1-3, TROY 288.

Chamber Music Instrumentation: 2 Violins, Viola, Violoncello.

Performed 4/24/91; 4/28/91; 11/17/91; 11/18/91; 11/22/91; 3/30/92; 4/5/92; 3/14/93; 3/27/93; 3/29/93; 3/5/96; 3/7/96 by the Oxford String Quartet in Oxford, Ohio; Youngstown, Ohio; Columbus, Ohio; Kalamazoo, Michigan.; New York, New York; Columbus, Ohio; Hampton VA.; Lima, Ohio; Celina, Ohio; Troy, Ohio; and Fort Wayne, Indiana respectively.

Performed 3/6/92, 3/12/92 by the Quapaw String Quartet in Little Rock, Ark. and Tuscaloosa, Alabama at the 26th annual National Conference of the Society of Composers, Inc. respectively.