Piano Sonata No. 3 (2010)

Piano Sonata No. 3 was composed during the spring of 2010 for Kyong Jarrell, and is the sequel to the earlier composed Piano Sonata No. 1, which was composed in 1999. Several moods are projected: an opening movement is pensive as well as dramatic, the slow movement is reflective, and a concluding movement is joyous.

Harvey J. Stokes

Duration of movements:
I. Andantino cantabile:      ca. 7′ 32″
II. Adagio:                               ca. 7′ 45″
III. Presto:                                ca. 7′ 50″
Total Duration: ca. 23′ 07″

Performed 3/14/11 by Kyong Jarrell, piano in Raleigh, North Carolina at the 2011 Southeastern Composers League Festival of New Music Forum.

Performed 3/31/12 in Newport News, Virginia at the Region III 2012 Conference of the Society of Composers, Inc.

Performed 10/7/12 in Murfreesboro, North Carolina, Chowan University at the Mid-Atlantic Chapter of National Association of Composers, USA conference.

Eun Kyong Jarrell, pianist, earned her Master’s degree in Piano Performance from Yeungnam University in South Korea and a certificat de perfectionnement from Ecole Normale de Musique in Paris, France. At the age of five, she began her study of the piano. During her childhood, she performed many recitals in Korea, Japan, and China.She started her career in the United States as a performer and an educator in 1995 and served on the faculties of Hampton University and Christopher Newport University.  Ms. Jarrell traveled to Paris, France, to continue her study of piano literature with Michael Wladkowski, a Chopin and Szymanowski specialist in 2006. During her residency in Paris, she worked with violinist Devy Erlih, a violinist; her study of ensemble literature included the complete Violin and Piano Sonatas by Beethoven. She has performed as a soloist and a collaborator throughout the USA, Europe and Asia.

Piano Sonata No. 3 (2010)



Inquiries?  Please write harveystokes78@gmail.com for more information.