Second Sonata for Oboe and Piano (2015)

The Second Sonata for Oboe and Piano was composed during the summer of 2015 in Hampton, Virginia for Dr. Caterina Bristol, who is Professor of Music at Alabama State University. The work is to be performed attacca, and features a pastoral first movement, a jovial second movement, and a concluding somber movement.

Harvey J. Stokes
Duration of movements:
I. Moderato                        5′ 40″
II. Allegretto                       3′ 46″
III. Lento                              9′ 45″
Total Duration: ca. 19′ 11″

Performed 2/19/16 by Dr. Caterina Bristol, oboe and Adonis Gonzalez, piano in Buies Creek, North Carolina at the 2016 Southeastern Composers League Forum.

Performed 4/12/19 by Natasha Merchant, oboe and Libby Vanatta, piano in Commerce, Texas at the 2019 Region VI Conference of the Society of Composers, Inc.


Second Sonata for Oboe and Piano (2015)

Score and Part


Inquiries?  Please write for more information.