Concerto No. 3 for Oboe and Chamber Orchestra (2006)


The Oboe Concerto No. 3 was composed during the spring and summer of 2006 in celebration of the composer’s silver jubilee of marriage to Charlotte Stokes. The four movements represent moments in their relationship, and these are titled respectively as follows: Pageant, Festival, Lament, and Vacation.

An initial two movements represent a matrimony and subsequent life celebration. An abrupt conclusion to the second movement is followed with a representation of tragedy in the third movement, and the concluding movement represents joyful travel respites over the countryside.

Cyclical elements abound throughout the work in representation of appropriate expressions of marital endearment. The work is to be performed attacca.

Harvey J. Stokes
Duration of movements
I. Pageant: Andante tranquillo               6′ 55″
II. Festival: Moderato                                 4′ 50″
III. Lament: Adagio                                      8′ 39″
IV. Vacation: Vivace con brio                     5′ 46″
Total Duration: ca. 26′ 10″

This work is published by Seesaw/Subito Music of Verona, New Jersey.

Performed 2/19/14 by Dr. Caterina Bristol, oboe and Joel Jones, piano [reduction] in Huntsville, Alabama at the HBCU Concert, Alabama State University.