Trio Ruvido for clarinet, bassoon, and piano (2016)

Trio Ruvido was composed during the Spring/Summer of 2016 in Hampton, Virginia for pianist Chialing Hsieh and the chamber trio Trifecta! (which includes clarinetist Lori Baruth and bassoonist David Oyen).

This work contains a wide range of “ruvido impressions” in an undoctrinaire style. Aspects of architectonic form, while somewhat traditional, are articulated with great freedom—with allowances for recapitulative gestures. A projection of a variety of tense and calm gestures of tonal relations is presented in a postmodern framework.

Harvey J. Stokes

Duration of movements:
I. Largo-Moderato assai:                                  ca. 6′ 10″
II. Lento-Allegretto con slancio-Adagio:        ca. 6′ 20″
Total Duration: ca. 12′ 30″

Clarinet (B-flat)

Performed 6/24/17 by David Oyen, bassoon, Lori Baruth, clarinet, and Chialing Hsieh, piano (Trifecta! chamber ensemble) in Appleton, Wisconsin at the 2017 International Double Reed Society Conference.

Performed 6/26/2017 in Valparaiso, Indiana at the 2017 Lutheran Summer Music Academy and Festival, Valparaiso University.

Performed 3/2/2018 in Huntington, West Virginia at the 2018 Ninth Festival of New Music, Marshall University.



Trio Ruvido for clarinet, bassoon, and piano

Score and Parts


Inquiries?  Please write for more information.