String Quartet No. 3 (1995)

The String Quartet No. 3 was composed for the Oxford String Quartet. The four movements, all based on material generated from the diatonic collection, are to be performed attacca. With program and performance notes.

Duration of movements:
I.                 ca. 4′ 51″
II.                 ca. 5′ 53″
III.                 ca. 8′ 29″

IV.                 ca. 6′ 50″

Total duration: ca. 25′ 00″

The work is published by Seesaw/Subito Music of Verona, New Jersey.

The work can be heard also on Albany Records: Harvey J. Stokes: String Quartets Nos. 1-3, TROY 288.

Chamber Music Instrumentation: 2 Violins, Viola, Violoncello.

Performed 4/10/96 by the Oxford String Quartet, Oxford, Ohio in celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the Oxford String Quartet.

Performed in the year 2000 by the Taegu Contemporary Music Ensemble, South Korea.