Piano Sonata No. 6 (2015)

Piano Sonata No. 6 was composed during the fall of 2015.  The four movements are performed attacca, and the pitch centricity of the movements project the “BACH” motive (B-flat, A, C, and B respectively).  The work was composed for Dr. Jenny Cruz, who is a Professor of Piano at Central State University.

Harvey J. Stokes
Duration of movements:
I. Allegretto:            ca. 6′ 15″
II. Largo:                   ca. 8′ 29″
III. Giocoso:               ca. 5′ 14″
IV. Allegro:                ca. 4′ 32″
Total Duration: ca. 24′ 30″

Performed 3/25/17 by Kyong Jarrell, piano in Lexington, Virginia at the 2017 Southeastern Composers League Forum Conference.

Piano Sonata No. 6



Inquiries?  Please write harveystokes78@gmail.com for more information.