Piano Sonata No. 9 (2018)

Piano Sonata No. 9 was written for pianist Eun Kyong Jarrell in celebration of her lengthy career as a solo pianist. All titles of the three movements seek to describe the character of the composed music: Festival (1st movement), Lament (2nd movement), and Triumph (3rd movement).

The work is to be performed attacca.

Harvey J. Stokes

Duration of movements:
I. Festival                    ca. 8′ 00″
II. Lament                  ca. 11′ 00″
III. Triumph                  ca. 6′ 30″

Total Duration:      ca. 25′ 30″

Eun Kyong Jarrell, pianist, earned her Master’s degree in Piano Performance from Yeungnam University in South Korea and a certificat de perfectionnement from Ecole Normale de Musique in Paris, France. At the age of five, she began her study of the piano. During her childhood, she performed many recitals in Korea, Japan, and China.She started her career in the United States as a performer and an educator in 1995 and served on the faculties of Hampton University and Christopher Newport University.  Ms. Jarrell traveled to Paris, France, to continue her study of piano literature with Michael Wladkowski, a Chopin and Szymanowski specialist in 2006. During her residency in Paris, she worked with violinist Devy Erlih, a violinist; her study of ensemble literature included the complete Violin and Piano Sonatas by Beethoven. She has performed as a soloist and a collaborator throughout the USA, Europe and Asia.

Piano Sonata No. 9



Inquiries?  Please write harveystokes78@gmail.com for more information.